David Duchovny

David Duchovny brings his new novel, “Miss Subways,” an eclectic New York City love story, to “Salon Talks.” The two-time Golden Globe award winner talks to Salon’s executive editor Andrew O’Hehir about the release of his third novel which is loosely based on the dark, comedic story around the Irish mythology-inspired Yeats play, “The Only Jealousy of Elmer.” Duchovny, who has a master’s in English literature from Yale and was destined for a writing career of some sort, revealed that it was actually his experiences on the award-winning show “The X-Files” where he learned how to write good stories. “Any kind of drama better be plot heavy, especially television. It has to be plot-heavy,” Duchovny said on “Salon Talks.” “It stripped away that pretension of art for art's sake or language for language’s sake or a novel is a language experiment or some kind of Wittgenstein conception of language. They were like ‘F’ you David, give us a f**king good story! I’m gonna write stories and I’m gonna bring my love of language into it for sure, but I’m gonna make sure that I’m telling a story that’s worthwhile.” Watch the full interview above to learn more about how Duchovny wrote from the female perspective in “Miss Subways” and what parts of the book he rewrote after the #MeToo movement came into the spotlight. Tune in for SalonTV's live shows, ["Salon Talks"]( https://video.salon.com/p/lzcPCDNc) and ["Salon Stage"]( https://video.salon.com/p/5n0BV6Ub), daily at noon ET / 9 a.m. PT and 4 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. PT, streaming live on [Salon]( https://video.salon.com/), [Facebook]( https://www.facebook.com/pg/salon/videos/) and [Periscope]( https://www.pscp.tv/Salon).